MINUTES

MICHIGAN SCHOOL SAFETY AND MENTAL HEALTH COMMISSION

October 26, 2022 10:00 a.m.

Ladislaus B. Dombrowski Board Room John A. Hannah Building, Fourth Floor 608 West Allegan Street Lansing, Michigan

Present: Dr. Daveda J. Colbert Dr. Jennifer Taiariol

Mr. Patrick R. Green Ms. Rosa M. Thomas

Dr. Alyse F. Ley Ms. Beth Nagel

Dr. Nasuh Malas Lt. Col. Chris Kelenski Mr. Jason Russell Ms. Aimee Alaniz

Staff Present: Dr. Diane Golzynski Ms. Mary Teachout

Mr. Michael Leathead Ms. Janice Dixon

REGULAR MEETING

I. <u>CALL TO ORDER</u>

Ms. Alaniz, representing Dr. Michael Rice, State Superintendent of Public Instruction, called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

II. APPROVAL OF AGENDA AND ORDER OF PRIORITY

Dr. Colbert moved, seconded by Mr. Green, that the School Safety and Mental Health Commission approve the agenda and order of priority.

A roll call vote was taken.

Colbert – Aye Ley – Aye

Russell – Aye

Thomas - Aye

Green - Aye

Malas - Aye

Taiariol - Aye

Nagel - Aye

The motion carried unanimously.

III. COMMISSIONER INTRODUCTIONS

Ms. Alaniz asked that the Commission members introduce themselves and the sector they were nominated to represent, and if they were interested in being chair or vice chair of the Commission.

Each Commissioner introduced themselves and gave a brief background. Dr. Colbert and Mr. Green expressed interest in being Chair and/or a member of Leadership.

Mr. Patrick Green moved, seconded by Dr. Colbert, that the School Safety and Mental Health Commission approve the Chair and Vice Chair by paper ballot.

A paper ballot was distributed, tabulated, and collected. By paper ballot, it was determined that Dr. Colbert will serve as the Commission Chair and Mr. Green will serve as the Commission Vice Chair. Meeting was turned over to Dr. Colbert as Chair.

IV. DISCUSSION ITEMS

Review of Open Meetings Act by Mr. Thomas Quasarano, Assistant Attorney General. Mr. Quasarano reviewed the Open Meetings Act (OMA) requirements and basic parliamentary procedures which the Commission must follow for public meetings. Mr. Quasarano reviewed a <a href="https://handout.notice.org/han

Review of Relevant <u>Statute Legislated Activities</u> by Dr. Diane Golzynski, Director of the Office of Health and Nutrition Services at the Michigan Department of Education. Dr. Golzynski read and provided copies of tasks the Commission is charged with regarding reducing youth suicides and strengthening the mental health of Michigan's youth.

Introduction of the Michigan Department of Education's School Safety and Behavioral Health Team by Dr. Diane Golzynski, Director of the Office of Health and Nutrition Services at the Michigan Department of Education.

V. ACTION ITEMS

Dr. Malas moved, seconded by Dr. Ley, that the School Safety and Mental Health Commission request Michigan Department of Education staff support the Commission until Commission staff are hired.

A roll call vote was taken.

Colbert - Aye Ley - Aye Russell - Aye Thomas - Aye Green - Aye Malas - Aye Taiariol - Aye Nagel - Aye

The motion carried unanimously.

Dr. Ley moved, seconded by Mr. Russell, that the School Safety and Mental Health Commission approve the By-Laws.

A roll call vote was taken.

Colbert - Aye Ley - Aye Russell - Aye Thomas - Aye Green - Aye Malas - Aye Taiariol - Aye Nagel - Aye

The motion carried unanimously.

Dr. Taiariol moved, seconded by Ms. Thomas, that the School Safety and Mental Health Commission approve the position descriptions for the hiring of an Executive Director, Secretary, and Communications Specialist.

A roll call vote was taken.

Colbert - Aye Ley - Aye Russell - Aye Thomas - Aye Green - Aye Malas - Aye Taiariol - Aye Nagel - Aye

The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Russell moved, seconded by Ms. Nagel, that the School Safety and Mental Health Commission contract with the Michigan Public Health Institute (MPHI) for \$600,000 to use their affiliate program for providing the Commission staff.

A roll call vote was taken.

Colbert - Aye Ley - Aye Russell - Aye Thomas - Aye Green - Nay Malas - Aye Taiariol - Aye Nagel - Aye

The motion carried 7-1.

Mr. Russell moved, seconded by Dr. Malas, that the School Safety and Mental Health Commission approve the list of future meeting dates.

A roll call vote was taken.

Colbert - Aye Ley - Aye Russell - Aye Thomas - Aye Green - Aye Malas - Aye Taiariol - Aye Nagel - Aye

The motion carried unanimously.

VI. <u>COMMENTS BY COMMISSIONERS</u>

Mr. Green stated his reason for voting nay on the MPHI topic. Mr. Russell and Lt. Col. Kelenski had no comments. All other Commissioners expressed excitement and gratitude to be part of this Commission.

VII. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION IN COMMISSION MEETING

No one requested the opportunity to provide public comment.

VIII. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

The meeting adjourned at 11:30 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Janice Dixon
Executive Secretary
Office of Health and Nutrition Services